Home Songs

Home Songs

$ 18.00
Home Songs, Genevieve Walker's second solo album, has grown out of the soil of motherhood and the ground of family life.

"Several of the melodies first came to me as lullabies that I would hum to my babies. Others were composed with an instrument in one hand and a toddler on my knee. My babies have grown into little people and the melodies have become the songs of this album. Songs are akin to children, they begin with an inkling, a whisper and build and grow beyond the imagination! Chris Gartner, the producer of this album, was instrumental in growing these songs.

My first album was influenced by my years of touring the world as a violinist. It was a worldly album, looking to home from elsewhere.
Home Songs is a shift in my orientation, drawing upon the sounds and melodies of everyday life to express a collective ode to the loss and joy found in the responsibilities of family life. It is a celebration of the numinous in the ordinary.

In my ongoing exploration of home I have come to appreciate that the HOME I long for most is the love in my own heart. When I am cut off from that love, I am not at home. My hope is that the music of this album will in some way bring you home."

1. Constellations  (5:50)
2. Saints  (5:07)
3. Mothers  (5:22)
4. Fathers  (4:18)
5. Songs  (5:15)
6. Beloveds  (4:00)
7. Moons  (3:11)
8. Shadows  (5:23)

Release Date: 2022